Wednesday, June 28, 2006

Minority Commission's new Christian member named

June 28,2006

Michael P Pinto, retired IAS officer and member of the expert group of the 12th Finance Commission, has been nominated as the Christian member of the National Commission for Minorities.

A government statement said last evening that it has "nominated four eminent persons as the Members of the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) for a period of three years with effect from the date of their assuming office."

Among other newly nominated members are Dileep Padgaonkar, former Executive Editor of Times of India and a prominent columnist. Also, Professor Zoya Hasan, Professor in Political Science, Centre for Political Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University and Lieutenant General AM Sethna, a member of the Parsi community and a former member of the IIIrd and IVth Minorities Commission.

The Government constituted the fifth Commission on March 3 this year with Mohammad Hamid Ansari, a former diplomat as the chairman. The government had then nominated Harcharan Singh Josh, a Delhi Congress leader to represent the Sikh community, and Lama Chosphel Zotpa to represent Buddhists.

Buddhist monk Zotpa from Ladakh is the former Vice-Chairman of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes.

Please click here for source